Tuesday, September 08, 2009

The Others

Novels of the Others by Christine Warren

I recently read the first two books in Christine Warren's Others paranormal romance series, Wolf at the Door and She's No Faerie Princess. There are quite a few other books in the series (listed below) and if they are like the first two, I'd definitely be interested in reading them as well. The books, at least the two I've read so far, are engaging reads, and the paranormal stuff isn't so far-fetched as to be completely unbelievable.

The books take place in a world very much like our own, but in which Others (were-animals, witches, vampires, etc.) coexist with humans their true natures hidden. They follow a broad story arch, but each focuses on a different couple. In Wolf at the Door the two protagonists are an Irish werewolf (the guth* of his pack) and a Manhattanite who happens to be a fox woman. In She's No Faerie Princess, a New York werewolf falls for a Sidhe who's heir to both the Seelie and Unseelie courts.

The other Others books:
3. The Demon You Know (2007)
4. Howl At the Moon (2007)
5. Walk On the Wild Side (2008)
6. One Bite with a Stranger (2008)
7. You're So Vein (2009)
8. Big Bad Wolf (2009)

* "in addition to being the pack's ambassador and negotiator, the guth was the keeper of its traditions, its histories, and its stories. He was the pack's living link to its past, as well as their insurance of a favorable future" (Wolf at the Door, 2)

No comments:

Post a Comment